Install AOKP in Galaxy Nexus

2013/01/03 by Paulo Pereira

~/categories/Apps #Linux #Ubuntu #GCStar

This is how I install a new ROM in my Galaxy Nexus, backing up all my apps and settings, and allowing a recover to my current state in case of something goes wrong.

I have root and have been using XenonHD (Android 4.2.1).

aokp_maguro_jb-mr1_build-1

I’m going back to AOKP, so I decided to post how I prepare my phone for a new ROM.

Backing up your device

cd Android/android-sdk-linux_86/tools/
sudo ./adb shell
ls /data/media/0
exit
sudo ./adb pull /data/media/0/data sdcard/data
sudo chown -R youruser:youruser sdcard

You can also backup using FTP for example. I normally use WellFTP Server.

Don’t forget to backup at least your “clockwork” and “TitaniumBackup” folders!

Note: clockwork backups are located in “/data/media/clockworkmod” and not in “/data/media/0/clockworkmod”, at least at my system.

Check in what folder you have the following folders: “backup” and “blobs”. That will be the correct clockwork backup folder.

Wiping your device

After these steps, all your device, including the “sdcard” is cleaned without ROM or files.

Installing a ROM

I will be installing AOKP JB-MR1 Build 1, based on Android 4.2.1.

Some of the steps here may be different from another ROMs, for example, the need for installing Google Apps.

sudo ./adb shell
cd /data/media
mkdir 0.ROOT
mkdir 0.ROOT/AOKP
exit
sudo ./adb push ~/aokp_maguro_jb-mr1_build-1.zip /data/media/0.ROOT/AOKP
sudo ./adb push ~/gapps-jb-20121212-signed.zip /data/media/0.ROOT/AOKP
sudo ./adb push ~/franco.Kernel-r358.zip /data/media/0.ROOT/AOKP

Android 4.2 creates a 0/ folder in your sdcard, so you might want to move the 0.ROOT folder created before into this 0/ folder.

Restoring your “sdcard”

sudo ./adb push sdcard/data /data/media/0

When restoring I tend to use WellFTP Server.

Restoring your apps

franco.Kernel settings

I’m currently using these settings.

Enjoy!