Create an usb recovery disk for booting b3 server

2011/05/01 by Paulo Pereira

~/categories/Linux #Linux #B3 Server

I can’t access my B3 Server and I don’t know why… :( I was away for a week and in between I couldn’t access my server.

Now, after locally rebooting it, still no joy…

I will show how to create an usb recovery disk to boot the B3 Server and how to backup your B3 storage to your local computer. After this you can do a full recovery, formating and reinstalling your B3 Server.

Creating the usb recovery disk

sudo blkid
sudo cfdisk /dev/sdc
sudo mkfs.vfat /dev/sdc1
zip b3-install-2.2.1.zip /media/usb_disk
gedit /media/usb_disk/install/bubba.cfg

Boot the B3 Server into recovery

ssh root@100.10.10.10

Mount the B3 root disk and the B3 storage disk

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
ls /mnt
vgscan
vgchange -a y
cd /
umount /mnt
mount /dev/bubba/storage /mnt/
ls /mnt

Backup the content of the B3 Server disks

ls /mnt
cd /mnt
scp -r b3userfolder/ localuser@100.10.10.22:/home/localuser/b3-bck
scp -r */ localuser@100.10.10.22:/home/localuser/b3-bck

References: